Seven Days of Us by Francesca Hornak

Just received my ARC from Berkley Publishing. Below is an excerpt from Goodreads. Click on the title for the link.

Seven Days of Us

by Francesca Hornak (Goodreads Author)
3.86  ·  Rating Details ·  131 Ratings  ·  71 Reviews
A warm, wry, sharply observed debut novel about what happens when a family is forced to spend a week together in quarantine over the holidays…

It’s Christmas, and for the first time in years the entire Birch family will be under one roof. Even Emma and Andrew’s elder daughter—who is usually off saving the world—will be joining them at Weyfield Hall, their aging country estate. But Olivia, a doctor, is only coming home because she has to. Having just returned from treating an epidemic abroad, she’s been told she must stay in quarantine for a week…and so too should her family.

For the next seven days, the Birches are locked down, cut off from the rest of humanity—and even decent Wi-Fi—and forced into each other’s orbits. Younger, unabashedly frivolous daughter Phoebe is fixated on her upcoming wedding, while Olivia deals with the culture shock of being immersed in first-world problems.

As Andrew sequesters himself in his study writing scathing restaurant reviews and remembering his glory days as a war correspondent, Emma hides a secret that will turn the whole family upside down.

In close proximity, not much can stay hidden for long, and as revelations and long-held tensions come to light, nothing is more shocking than the unexpected guest who’s about to arrive…

In her first acquisition for Berkley, executive editor Amanda Bergeron has acquired North American rights, in a preempt, to Seven Days of Us, a debut novel by journalist Francesca Hornak (History of the World in 100 Objects), along with a second, untitled novel by the author. According to Berkley, Seven Days of Us operates in the vein of The Nest and The Vacationers, centering on a holiday family gathering at a country estate. Berkley plans to publish the novel in fall 2017.

 

IMG_6572

Advertisements

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s